How your company can gain from people sustainability

People sustainability is crucial for a successful sustainability strategy and can contribute to better ESG reports and to improved business results and a higher level of employee well-being.

The concept of ‘people sustainability’ is located on the intersection of employee commitment, empowerment and sustainable entrepreneurship. It is defined as the ethical and honest treatment of people within an organisation. A sustainability strategy for employee can, in other words, help to:

Thanks to covid

The past few years there has been a great shift at work. The revolution of hybrid working was caused by COVID, and thanks to technological progress the shift to the remote office was nearly seamless. But although the instruments were there to make this shift happen, the policies and the approach were not. Company transformation is not solely about new technology; it needs to be an adjusted approach that takes technology, processes and people into account.

The three crucial factors if you want to win with people sustainability:

1. Upskilling employees

By estimation there will be 85 million vacancies world-wide due to a lack of the right skills. By prioritising people and developing them through upskilling and re-education, organisations can make their employees feel more committed and well-rested with the means they need to grow while the company further develops.

2. Paying attention to the employee in the whole ecosystem

Governments and other regulating authorities demand more and more that companies take responsibility for the way employees are treated in their ecosystem.

Technology is essential to comply with the regulation demands for the supply chain. Thanks to the increased transparency of data companies can look into their direct and indirect suppliers and look who protects both people and environment. With this level of visibility, companies can lessen audits and improve their direct and indirect societal, economic and environmental impact.

3. Ensuring a human-centred approach in the corporate world

Companies focus more and more on a sustainable well-being policy. And each transformation begins and ends with people. People implement new technologies, develop new company models and lead crucial initiatives. With a people-centred approach organisations are more resilient, competent, innovative and motivated to achieve our joint sustainability goals.

Putting the human at the centre gives progress

Even now organisations are dealing with shrinking budgets and rising inflation, the most important thing is employee commitment. Especially in the current uncertain times, having an eye for the employee well-being generates great benefits related to productivity, collaboration and motivation.

Recent research by SAP confirms that more than 86% of managers thinks that investing in people sustainability can lead to positive economic and ecological sustainability results. A McKinsey report indicates that 83% of C-suite leaders expect ESG programmes will contribute more to shareholder value in five years than they do now. By putting humans at the centre in the business strategy, innovation, resilience and collaboration are improved and the performance and progress accellerate.

With the People Sustainability Scan B-Tonic identifies the workability rate of your organisation, completely aligned with the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations (UN SDGs).

Page 1Page 2 – Page 3

 

Do you have any questions?
Need a custom quote?

maartje vanewijk

Annelies Theunissen
People Sustainability Expert

New Trend Report 2024 ‘Wellbeing & Sustainability’

The social weight of ESG in sustainable business

Read more about the latest trends now

Book your online appointment

With the workability cheque you can receive support to identify problems with workable work within your organisation as a one-man-business, SME, large company or social profit organisation with at least 1 employee on the payroll. The intention is to improve labour conditions sustainably. Through the cheques, Flanders finances up to 60% of your project, with a ceiling of €9,000.

The last day to submit your applications is July 31, 2024.
The deadline for performing services is August 31, 2024. Want to know more about the feasibility check?

Ce que la people sustainability peut apporter à votre entreprise

La people sustainability est cruciale pour la réussite d’une stratégie de développement durable et peut contribuer à améliorer non seulement le reporting ESG, mais aussi les résultats commerciaux et le bien-être de vos collaborateurs.

Le concept de ‘people sustainability’ se situe à la croisée de l’implication des collaborateurs, de l’autonomisation et de l’entreprise durable. Elle se définit comme le traitement éthique et équitable des personnes au sein d’une organisation. Autrement dit, une stratégie durable pour les collaborateurs peut contribuer à :

Grâce au coronavirus

Ces dernières années, le monde du travail a connu une évolution considérable. La révolution du travail hybride a été provoquée par le COVID et, grâce aux progrès technologiques, la transition vers le travail à domicile s’est déroulée pratiquement sans heurts. Mais alors qu’on disposait des outils pour permettre cette évolution, la politique et la gestion des ressources humaines sont restées à la traîne. La transformation d’une entreprise ne se limite pas aux nouvelles technologies : il faut une approche intégrée qui prend en compte la technologie, les processus et l’humain.

Les trois facteurs cruciaux si vous voulez tirer profit de la people sustainability :

1. Permettre aux collaborateurs de se former en permanence

D’ici 2030, on estime qu’il y aura dans le monde 85 millions d’emplois vacants faute de compétences adéquates. En accordant la priorité à leur personnel et en lui permettant d’évoluer par le biais de formations continues et de recyclage, les organisations peuvent faire en sorte que leurs collaborateurs se sentent plus impliqués et disposent des outils nécessaires pour évoluer en même temps que l’entreprise.

2. Se soucier du collaborateur dans l’ensemble de l’écosystème

Les gouvernements et autres instances compétentes exigent de plus en plus des entreprises qu’elles assument la responsabilité de la manière dont leurs collaborateurs sont traités dans l’ensemble de leur écosystème.

La technologie est essentielle pour répondre aux exigences de la réglementation sur la chaîne d’approvisionnement. La transparence accrue des données permet aux entreprises d’examiner leurs fournisseurs directs et indirects et de voir qui protège à la fois les personnes et l’environnement. Grâce à ce niveau de transparence, les entreprises peuvent réduire les audits et améliorer l’impact social, économique et environnemental direct et indirect de leurs activités.

3. Mettre en place une gestion centrée sur l’humain

Les entreprises s’investissent de plus en plus dans une politique durable en matière de bien-être. Toute transformation commence et se termine par des personnes. Ce sont des personnes qui mettent en œuvre les nouvelles technologies, qui développent de nouveaux modèles d’entreprise et qui mènent à bien des initiatives essentielles. Les organisations qui appliquent une approche centrée sur l’humain sont plus résilientes, plus compétentes, plus innovantes et plus motivées pour atteindre nos objectifs communs en matière de durabilité.

Placer l’humain au centre permet d’aller de l’avant

Aujourd’hui, même si les organisations sont confrontées à des budgets en baisse et à une inflation en hausse, l’implication de leurs collaborateurs est primordiale. Surtout dans la période d’incertitude que nous traversons actuellement, l’attention que l’on porte au bien-être de ses collaborateurs se traduit par d’énormes avantages en termes de productivité, de collaboration et de motivation.

Une étude récente de SAP révèle que plus de 86 % des dirigeants pensent qu’investir dans le développement durable des personnes permet d’obtenir des résultats positifs en matière de durabilité économique et environnementale. Un rapport de McKinsey indique que 83 % des dirigeants de la suite C estiment que d’ici cinq ans, les programmes ESG contribueront davantage à la valeur actionnariale que ce n’est le cas actuellement. Le fait de placer l’humain au cœur de la stratégie de l’entreprise permet d’améliorer l’innovation, la résilience et la collaboration et d’accélérer les performances et les progrès.

Avec le People Sustainability Scan, B-Tonic cartographie la viabilité et le potentiel de votre organisation selon les 17 objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies (ODD de l’ONU).

PrécédentPage 1Page 2 – Page 3

Des questions ?
Besoin d’une offre personnalisée ?

maartje vanewijk

Annelies Theunissen
People Sustainability Expert

Téléchargez le Rapport des Tendances 2024: 'Bien-être & Durabilité'

En savoir plus sur le poids social de l’ESG dans l’entreprise durable ?

e-book-2024-fr